Austin Shakespeare

Cat on a Hot Tin Roof

Nov 16 - Dec 2

Event Details

  • Fri, Nov. 16
    7:30 pm
  • Sat, Nov. 17
    7:30 pm
  • Sun, Nov. 18
    3:00 pm
  • Wed, Nov. 21
    7:30 pm
  • Fri, Nov. 23
    7:30 pm
  • Sat, Nov. 24
    7:30 pm
  • Sun, Nov. 25
    3:00 pm
  • Wed, Nov. 28
    7:30 pm
  • Thu, Nov. 29
    7:30 pm
  • Fri, Nov. 30
    7:30 pm
  • Sat, Dec. 1
    7:30 pm
  • Sun, Dec. 2
    3:00 pm

All Ages

The Long Center is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit dedicated to broadening the appreciation and enhancing the enjoyment of the cultural arts.

Tickets
From

$25

Austin Shakespeare presents Cat on a Hot Tin Roof, November 16 – December 2 in Rollins Studio Theatre.

Experience this professional company’s new production of Tennessee Williams’ steamy masterpiece, Cat on a hot Tin Roof, Williams’ favorite story of an ex-football player, “Brick,” now alcoholic, who struggles with his strong-willed wife and father. The show features Gwendolyn Kelso as “Maggie the Cat,” who so impressed Austin Shakespeare audiences with her “Blanche Dubois” in Tennessee Williams’ A Streetcar Named Desire.

Dangling between the dangers of wealth and poverty, the family’s “Southern discomfort” becomes increasingly treacherous as secrets are revealed that have been evaded by mendacity. Written in the 1950s, this script reveals homosexual longings that were not allowed in the Liz Taylor/Paul Newman film. For Cat on a Hot Tin Roof, Tennessee Williams won a Pulitzer Prize and a drama Critics Circle Award. Other well-known characters in the play include Big Daddy, Big Mama, Gooper, Mae and their children, referred to as “no neck monsters.” Every performance features a brief “Talk Back” for audience members with actors and director Ann Ciccollela on the theater of ideas, romance and characters (some performances feature guest commentators after the show).

About Austin Shakespeare

Austin Shakespeare presents professional theatre of the highest quality with an emphasis on the plays of William Shakespeare, bringing to the public performances that are fresh, bold, imaginative, thought-provoking and eminently accessible, connecting the truths of the past with the challenges and possibilities of today.

Questions? Call the 3M Box Office at (512) 474-LONG (5664), TTY (800) 735-2989.

 

Comments